Before and After Dayton: Bosnia’s Past and Its European Future


Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Kenney Auditorium
1740 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20036




10:00 a.m. Greetings

Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR-SAIS

Her Excellency Jadranka Negodić, Ambassador of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the United States


10:15 a.m. Keynote Address

Congressman Michael Turner (R-OH)


11:00 a.m.–12:15 p.m. Before Dayton: The Spreading Balkan Fire

Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR-SAIS

Daniel Serwer, Senior Fellow, CTR-SAIS

Chair: Marvin Kalb, Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy, Brookings Institution



12:20–12:50 p.m. No Safe Haven: Using the U.S. Immigration and Criminal Codes to Exclude Participants in Human Rights Violations

Presentation by Michael MacQueen, Senior Historian, Human Rights Violators & War Crimes Center, US ICE


12:50–2:00 p.m. Light buffet lunch


2:00–3:45 p.m. The International Community and Bosnia and Herzegovina in 1995

Richard Kauzlarich, Former U.S. Ambassador to Bosnia and Herzegovina

Jacques Paul Klein, Former UN Special Representative to Bosnia and Herzegovina

Edward Joseph, Former Senior UN and OSCE Official in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Chair: Swanee Hunt, Former U.S. Ambassador


4:00 p.m.  Keynote Address

The Honorable Madeleine Albright, former U.S. Secretary of State


4:45 p.m. Reception

Bosnia’s European Future


Thursday, May 14, 2015
1717 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Room 500
Washington, DC 20036




12:00 p.m.–12:30 p.m  Registration and Light Lunch Buffet


12:30 p.m.–2:00 p.m  Bosnia and Herzegovina: Economic Boom Possible?

Mersad Ramović, Energoinvest d.d. Director of Marketing

Enver Mujezinović, Military Industrial Affairs Directorate, Ministry of Energy, Mining and Industry of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Mujo Selimović, MIMS Group CEO

Chair: Sasha Toperich, Senior Fellow, CTR-SAIS


2:00–4:00 p.m. Bosnia and Herzegovina’s EU Integration Process – Prospects for Reforms in 2015

Hoyt Yee, U.S. Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs

Lars-Gunnar Wigemark, Head of the EU Delegation and EU Special Representative to Bosnia and Herzegovina

Chair:  Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR-SAIS